Gender Divides in Earned Doctorates

February 15, 2011

Duke University Sociologist Kieran Healy from Crooked Timber broke down the NORC 2009 Survey of Earned Doctorates by Gender. From SED: “The Survey of Earned Doctorates (SED) is a federal agency survey conducted by NORC for the National Science Foundation and five other federal agencies (National Institutes of Health, U.S. Department of Education, National Endowment for the Humanities, U.S. Department of Agriculture, and the National Aeronautics and Space Administration).

The SED gathers information annually from 45,000 new U.S. research doctorate graduates about their educational histories, funding sources, and post-doctoral plans.”

Click HERE for a fascinating expanded PDF on Gender Divides in all disciplines.

28 Responses to “Gender Divides in Earned Doctorates”

  1. Bluetraveler Says:

    I must evidently be a statistical fluke.

    • Bluetraveler Says:

      (OR even better, “male inside”. No, it’s absolutely not the fault of stereotype threat that women in the hard sciences are so few, it’s all because women are just dumb at maths, but so great at emoting. Yeah)

      I’ve seen so many intelligent and competent girls choosing other roads because maths/physics/engineering were “too hard” / “too technical”, and most of them were actually better prepared than the males actually going in there!

    • GallusMag Says:

      You’re a MAN! lmao.
      It would be interesting to see worldwide statistics. I wonder if different cultures would skew differently. In the US you would be anomalous, according to these statistics.

      • Bluetraveler Says:

        I am anomalous even here, even if probably less anomalous. What I absolutely think it’s the cause of this phenomenon is the fact girls are trained to be “mechanical, methodical thinkers” (the ones who always do all the homework but can’t solve a new problem), which does great harm to intuition, which is actually science and maths’ “propeller” so to speak. They don’t have FAITH IN THEMSELVES, and in their brain and imagination. I do instead! I might be wrong many times, but I believe in my capabilities and I like challenges actually. Oh wait, that’s “male inside”. Curious…

      • Bluetraveler Says:

        Another thing that MUST be dismantled is the myth of the genius (almost always male). Geniuses are those who apparently do “leaps” of thought no one else thought about. And that is simply, IMO, lack of (holistic, “artistic”, “poetical”) intuition on the others’ part, not an extraordinary ability of the genius. Intuition is something society wants to destroy, especially in women. Everyone is intuitive to a certain degree, but this ability is dramatically cut down by SCHOOL(especially by the PC ideology! You can never follow the train thought ’till its end). I think most schools make us STUPID! And intuition is especially, and rather inconsequentially, discouraged in most math courses, with disastrous results, especially for girls who are even more conditioned to be mechanical.

      • GallusMag Says:

        I think women and girls have to kill some of their own intuition (or find ways to ignore it) in order to survive in the sex class “female”. Otherwise they would go insane.

      • GallusMag Says:

        Verrry good points Blue.

  2. GallusMag Says:

    It will be interesting to see how Eve Ensler’s Congo program will turn out, which teaches rape survivors computer and technology skills (among other things) in a culture that is not technologically advanced throughout.

    • Bluetraveler Says:

      Well, in my city’s University there are some people from Subsaharan African countries (West African especially), most of them studying medicine (understandable), and the ratio male/female is pretty much equal. And that’s medicine, not physiotherapy.

    • Noanodyne Says:

      There’s a whole field dedicated to that type of work – it’s called IT for Development and there’s quite a bit of complexity to the whole thing. I work with a university program that is trying to suss out all the details to teach people the best ways of doing these kinds of projects to do good things without setting bad things in motion. I don’t trust that Eve Ensler has done the hard work to make damn sure that she’s not doing more harm than good. (I’m not a fan of the Vagina Monologues, but that’s another conversation.) A whole lot of arrogant U.S.ians have tried these exact kinds of things and proceeded to put girls and women in severe danger (all the way up to and including being murdered for gaining these skills). Just ask Oprah how the best intentions can go very badly astray. But then, anthropologists have known this for six decades – we can’t just drop in from our privileged place and decide to reform communities into being just like some other community. Even with significant input from the communities themselves, these projects have failed the girls and women they were supposed to help.

  3. Mr. McDonnell Says:

    In reading your post an alternative solution funding by medicaid / medicare A and B ( denied in the 80s and accepted in the Obamacare at present), and I understand that this post pertains to help men with a need to change their sex as the desired sex and those with confusing gender disphoria, what about those of us men like myself who were sexually abused and sexually psychologically and physically abused at age 5 ( that is branded through life, that is /has evolved into problematic anxiety, masive depression, suicide attemps, outrageous anger ( and keeps intensifying ), frustration and continual aggression imposed by women and intensifies even more so by feminist who want to rule and snuff out men )(and has left unreported for 48 years ) l have an extream desire to remove our ( meaning other men who cary this inerest) /my genitals due to the cruelty of the abuse that has occurred and continues to be threatened every day by feminism.
    I only ask you to consider the fact that this is a mental health issue that is not addresed or talked about by men as an alternative option just for genital removal /total castration for subsidizing monetary aid to help those men to eliminate the the disgust between their legs due to the constant bombardment of STRONG feministic ways of verbally bashing and psychologically emasculated men to be to dog. I thought these days women wanted to be equal to men – but they want more, and they are gong to far.
    And because of this strong influence of women , and the original sexual act of violence administered by my mother, all of this time in my life I have been designated as the perpetrator and feel Threatened around women and children from this Horrific act of violence, That I Desperately am in financial need and Dr. accepted to Complete my extream desire to be sexually nullified by request as desired and not denied and taken as an investigative measure to put someone in a hospital lock down with 4 point restraints for 22 hours (no food ,water, restroom ) just because I have an extream problem with dominant women. ( another false imprisonment composed , coherced and orchestrated by the U. W. Med center in Washington state – I just went through this, this year. I was actully taken to the hospital for leg pain due to a heart attack and it was taken psycologically. )( NO HELP FOR MY LEGS, this was not even as sexual thing )
    I don’t think it is fair that I am denied the choice to remove my genitals. (I would hope that the so called elective surgery does not come into focus and monetary help should /could help with this case.
    I am of many men who feel this way.
    many will never speak.
    And men WILL continue to decline.
    I believe I hold tis choose NOT the Drs. or Psychatrists.


    • Wow, that was a lot of crazy.

      You were sexually abused as a child by your mother.

      That is an extremely traumatic experience.

      You don’t need to cut your penis off.

      You need therapy and some anti-depressants, anti-psychotics and perhaps some anxiolytics.

      If you have an intensifying outrageous anger then you need to go see a psychiatrist.

      Especially as you appear to be delusional with your belief that feminists want to ‘snuff out men’ and are out to persecute you.

      You state frustration and continual aggression in your behaviour that is ‘caused’ by women.

      That is delusion.

      Go to a psychiatric hospital.

      You are a danger to yourself and others.

      You want to castrate yourself because you are disgusted with your genitals because feminists make you hate your penis?

      How have women emasculated you?

      That doesn’t make any sense.

      Go to a psychiatric hospital.

      You have an ‘extreme problem with dominant women’?

      What’s a dominant woman?

      You are seriously ill.

      Go to a psychiatric hospital.

      In the meantime:

      DO NOT GO NEAR WOMEN OR CHILDREN.

      You seem to be having some form of psychosis.

      This in addition with your feelings of being ‘threatened’ and persecuted by women and children I will again reiterate:

      GO TO A PSYCHIATRIC HOSPITAL.

      YOU ARE DELUSIONAL AND NEED TO SEEK MEDICAL HELP.

      • cm98059 Says:

        Bethany you are exhibiting exactly what Mr McDonnell is talking about. You do not even know him or the abuse he has endured at the hands of women in his life, but you have decided that you have the right to tell him what he should do. I hope that you are not a mental health professional, because you are going to cause someone to take their own life. You are the monster you deny exists.

      • farishcunning Says:

        Bullshit, cm98059. Bethany’s post was a home run. The guy clearly needs some serious help, and should definitely STAY AWAY FROM WOMEN AND CHILDREN.


      • BWAHAHAHA! Nice gaslighting there cm98059.

        I am exhibiting anger towards women and children? How the fuck am I exhibiting anything but alarm that this dude hates women and children?

        So someone posts that they want to cut off their penis because of prior sexual assault and that doesn’t raise any red flags?

        Someone claims that he is angry and feels persecuted by women and children and that doesn’t raise red flags?

        Someone states that they were strapped down to a bed because they had a problem with women and that doesn’t raise red flags?

        WHAT THE FUCK?

        Am I supposed to give him a great big hug through the internet and make him feel better when he explicitly states that he has problems with women and children?

        Or maybe I should refer him seek out people he can talk to so he can get help and work through his traumatic past?

        I didn’t say I didn’t believe him. I told him to get help.
        Nor did I tell him to hurt himself or others.

        Am I not allowed to suggest that someone who is showing the hallmarks of a delusional psychosis that they need to get help?

        Seriously, did you even fucking read what he wrote?

        He says he has problem with depression (including prior suicide attempts), anxiety and aggression.

        I am ALLOWED to tell people what I think they should do.
        They are ALLOWED to ignore me.

        According to you, I’m a monster because I told someone with mental health issues to go seek out a MENTAL HEALTH professional.

        Nice blame game there.

        According to you, if I tell someone to get help then suddenly I am exactly the same as his rapist mother.

        Here’s what I suggest you do:

        how about you go outside and go fuck yourself? How about that?

        Feel free to ignore me.

        I don’t actually give to shits about you, you fucking cockweasel.

      • Ashland Avenue Says:

        CM, if you read McDonnell’s comment and could not discern that the guy is wack, well, then you’re right up there with him and you should check yourself into a hospital as well. Seriously. If your powers of observation are that piss poor, you’re in for a world of problems if you’re not there already. And fuck you mightily for calling Bethany a monster for calling out McDonnell’s violent misogyny. Fuck you for expecting women to just put up with that. Ain’t gonna happen. Dickhead.

    • Ashland Avenue Says:

      WHELP, I think we should put a fancy digital frame around McDonnell’s post. Exhibit A, you know?

    • cm98059 Says:

      Bethany and Farish
      How can either one of you “know” what another person that you have never met needs? Since, neither of you know the op personally, and have not been to any of his psychiatric appointments, you have no room to be telling him I’m what he needs to do. Also, since you “don’t give a fuck” maybe you should be the one who goes outside and ducks yourself. By taking the “right” to tell the op what you think he should do, you are in fact being his abuser once more.

      I personally know the op, you don’t. I am telling you flat out, you are out of line. Get off your ducking high horse. You have done the op a disservice by deciding that you “know” what he needs to do and trying to control him. Your telling him what he needs to do is trying to exert your dominance over him, this is why I am telling you that you are continuing his cycle of abuse. He was stating a fact about his abuse, you attacked him and abused him once more. How do you feel now, RAPIST.

    • silkyvelvet Says:

      Dude, you are as sick as they get – sick in the head, and your insane, rambling screed proves this. You need to be placed in a mental institution, because you are a clear and present danger to women and kids.

  4. GallusMag Says:

    Gentlemen stop leaving your sick comments here. Thank you.

  5. GallusMag Says:

    Why on earth they targeted this specific post I will never know. Doesn’t matter. Conversation over here fellas.

    • cm98059 Says:

      I sincerely apologize if I stated my honesty that has offended any one.
      I have not stated the crule and gruesome sexual and sexual psycological abuse committed by my mother.
      For 40 years – I have been extensively in depth, seriously involved with psychiatry and have taken it to the fullest extent.
      Yes, it is difficult to keep my distance from women, but at least understand that when I mentioned children it only applies to the case abuse endured as a young boy. Therefore this reflects those memories as a child and I feel I must remove myself from the premises to avoid feeling the abuse each time. – I don’t think there any threat with either of those two statements.It is to protect myself. I am not psycotic, or delusional.
      And I must stress that I do not want to change my sex from male to female, but the extream warrent to become sexually nullified helps me to get rid of the anger, aggression,hostility,anxiety, depression, abuse issues and negative sources of income to en further damaging my line and make It more possitive.
      I came to you in earnest with hopes of acceptance and help – all else has failed.
      Yes the abuse is sick and the request has been taken as sick.
      I mean no harm in what I have stated.
      I only hope that the moderator understands that I am not trying to fight any one here and can be fair and amicable in quelling the harsh criticism. It hurts to be another outcast.
      I close by saying that I am sorry if I upset anyone. It has been a hard life to live.

      • GallusMag Says:

        Chris Mayfield I have asked you to stop posting here under either this name or the Mr. McDonnell one. You are an extremely aggressive and disturbed individual and I fear for what you may do to women and children. In addition to what you have shared here, you have multiple ads on sex sites requesting encounters where you can act out the adult role in “man-boy” encounters. I won’t link them here. As someone said upthread, I am going to leave this info here for law enforcement in case you do something (or are found to have already done something) terrible.
        This is not a site to help men like yourself. This is a site to help women heal from contact with men like yourself. I encourage you to go to male sites and seek healing there. Or go anywhere, I don’t care, but you are not welcome here. Do not post here again. Thanks.


Leave a Reply

