Shit “Radical Queers” Say to Each Other

January 21, 2012

12 Responses to “Shit “Radical Queers” Say to Each Other”

  1. yttik Says:

    ROFL! Oh gawd, hipsters. They make me wish I had eaten my young while their bones were still soft. I condemn them all to live with themselves in a room full of mirrors.

  2. la redactora Says:

    “Don’t you mean they?” “Rainbow and chard.” LOL. Those people were half of the idiots at my university. Even the little note at the end is insufferable. Though they forgot to include “bois” or is that not the “it” thing to be anymore?

    Coffee shops are where I’ve done some of my best thinking on capitalism😉.

  3. Bev Jo Says:

    Oh my god….well, this explains a lot. Some so mainstream who think they are are so radical while looking so acceptably het and male-identified feminine. And that’s the one who dates “trans guys?” I’m guessing that’s so she’ll feel more normal and less like a (gasp!) Lesbian. But then the others clearly show that “trans guys” are the most sought after. Why???

    The pressure to not identify as female or Lesbian is horrific. It’s all about being trendy, which, as we said in a subtitle in our book — “Trendy Is Reactionary.”

    Not radical at all — just a variation on patriarchal normal/mainstream. Perhaps trendy enough to upset their parents, but not enough to lose privilege. And so much privilege.

    This is so similar to the mainstreaming/de-radicalizing I saw starting in the late Seventies of our Radical Lesbian Feminist movement, but with the addition of the whole trans con.

    Love the final comment. Thank you, Gallus!

  4. KittyBarber Says:

    GM–have you seen this?
    [edited-GM]
    [Thanks Kitty. Good lookin’ out. Thanks for passing that along. -GM]

  5. DM Says:

    Oh, and don’t forget the “trigger warnings”, “heteronormativity”, “cis-privilege”, and “gender neutral bathrooms”.

  6. fmnst Says:

    There is enormous pressure on lesbians to look ever-more male, as that is considered ever-more “cool.” (And cold.) Very sad.

  7. SheilaG Says:

    Is the disclaimer at the end real?

  8. KittyBarber Says:

    January 21, 2012 at 5:27 pm

    “ROFL! Oh gawd, hipsters. They make me wish I had eaten my young while their bones were still soft. I condemn them all to live with themselves in a room full of mirrors.”

    I recommend a long marinade with a nice red wine vinegar.


Leave a Reply

