April 6, 2012

Sex matters.

1. Sex and gender are different.

Sex and gender are not spelled alike or pronounced alike. They are two different words with two very different meanings:

According to definitions proposed by the Institute of Medicine (23), “sex” is a biological construct dictated by the presence of sex chromosomes, and in animals and humans, the presence of functional reproductive organs.  “Gender” is a cultural construct and refers to behaviors which might be directed by specific stimuli (visual, olfactory, etc) or by psychosocial expectations that result from assigned or perceived sex.

(bold and color added) In pursuit of scientific excellence – sex matters, by Virginia M. Miller. Am J Physiol Heart Circ Physiol, published ahead of print February 10, 2012, doi: 10.1152/ajpheart.00073.2012.

2. Sex does not cause gender.

The presence of female reproductive organs in a particular body does not mean that a person necessarily likes pink, painting her nails, talking about her feelings, and nurturing small children. Sex…

View original post 327 more words

3 Responses to “”

  1. RoseVerbena Says:

    I had someone “pity” me the other day for saying that “I don’t have a gender identity, I have a sex”.

    I wish I’d kept the quote. It was pretty funny.

    Silly rabbits.


  2. When I was reading this on my phone yesterday, there were notes and citations that linked to other sites, such as Feministing. Where has that gone? I wanted to read those other articles but wasn’t able on my phone.
    Thanks,


Leave a Reply

