October 3, 2012

9 Responses to “”

  1. June42 Says:

    Was there and loved it! Gail Dines is brill

  2. Julia Says:

    This was an incredible video. I’ve been creeping on this blog and other radical feminist sites for about a year now, getting so much inspiration and motivation. The last thing she says in this speech about not letting despair get the best of you and stop you from taking action hit me really hard. I’ve been struggling with recovering from a sexually abusive childhood/teenage years for a few years now, and I feel like the (much needed) introversion has paralyzed me from being able to funnel my anger towards more outwardly productive means. I guess I was just wondering if you or anyone on here had any suggestions for where to start. Specific authors, books, etc. I can’t help but marvel at how people like you can understand the intricate horrors of life and not let it just run you down. I would appreciate any advice, and thank you so much for running such an amazing blog.

    • gail dines Says:

      Hello Julia,

      I am so sorry to hear that you have had such a difficult past. There are many avenues to recovery so let me suggest a few. Reading Andrea Dworkin’s Letters from a War Zone helps direct the anger outwards towards the patriarchy instead of inwards which causes paralysis. Finding a community of like minded women also help, as does a good therapist. Where do you live? And I also recommend Judith Herman’s Trauma and Recovery. Excellent book. you can reply to mt through my email at gdines@wheelock.edu. Good luck!
      Gail Dines

    • GallusMag Says:

      I’m glad Gail answered because I’m not sure I have an answer. It IS paralyzing. Still thinking about it. My mind keeps going back to the answer Gail gave in her talk posted here: “ The answer is a Feminist Movement”. I’m not sure there is an individual answer. I’m not sure healing can occur alone. We need other women. We need a movement. Our traumas are individual but I don’t think our healing can be. If that makes sense.
      I hope wise women will post their answers here.

  3. weirdward Says:

    I think I would agree that trying to find a good feminist collective to connect with would be a good starting point. Hopefully the resources suggested here will help to point out some possibilities where you live.

    Andrea Dworkin – yes – no one tells it like she does! You can download much of her writing for free on the internet.

    Maybe Pure Lust by Mary Daly – I’m biased because I love her, and would recommend everything by her – but Pure Lust in particular describes how men take joy away from women – our lust for living – and how we can get it back. That’s a gross oversimplification, but it’s hard to describe Daly’s books – they defy classifications, rather intentionally I think.

    Also I would add feminist fiction and poetry. In my opinion, that’s often where you’ll find the most extensive explorations of what the world could look like, and I really do think its important to not get so caught up in despair we let our imaginations be stifled.

    Again, this is just a subjective list of some of my favourites – Adrienne Rich and Audre Lorde for poetry; for fiction some feminist classics include the Holdfast Chronicles by Suzy McKee Charnas, Native Tongue by Suzette Haden Elgin, The Wanderground by Sally Miller Gearhart (downloadable for free on the internet as a PDF), Woman on the Edge of Time by Marge Piercy, Gael Baudino and Octavia Butler; Charlotte Perkins Gilman for someone a bit earlier.

    Best of luck Julia, and I hope we’ll continue to see you on the internet.

    • Loup-loup garou Says:

      A footnote on Sally Miller Gearhart: she later repudiated many of her radical feminist views, and started publishing articles in defense of sadomasochism. That doesn’t necessarily have to taint all earlier work, but some people might prefer to steer clear of her anyway.

      • weirdward Says:

        I didn’t know that about Sally Miller Gearhart – that’s very sad. I guess amongst other things there must have been a lot of pressure from the sex-poz crowd of the day (which doesn’t make it any better).

  4. Julia Says:

    Thanks so much to everyone for responding ans being supportive, I’m looking forward to checking out some of these authors and books.


Leave a Reply

