Dick Panties

February 2, 2014

43 Responses to “Dick Panties”

    • 1899fcbarcelona Says:

      LOL!
      I agree that was pretty disturbing to watch.

    • coelacanth Says:

      I just threw up a little in my mouth. I am a male, gay, old. Can any of you tell me what is this insane obsession of queer people with transgenderism. WHY! Why is this the new Jesus Movement. Again, I must thank Gallus for this breath of sanity on the web. It makes me remember that I am not alone in knowing how many fingers the trans big brother is actually holding up. btw, the asshole male dancing in the vag bikini is the new het and will like all het men have since the cave do anything to get pussy — even pretend cock underwear is fun and dancy. INSANE!

  1. KittyBarber Says:

    Gonna rush right out and buy me some of that. Oh yeah.

  2. Adrian Says:

    Okay, had to smile a bit at the fig leaf one. But what was the guy with the… bagels on the back about? Or were those doughnuts?

    Meanwhile I came across a post elsewhere upset that the existence of these is (wait for it) transphobic because of course “dick panties” should really be about panties for “girls with junk.” Though I think I learned here last week(?) that that’s what a “gaff” is all about (this site is so educational!).

    • GallusMag Says:

      I saw someone saying these underwears were “insensitive to ftms” LOL

    • Random Radfem Says:

      LOL- yeah, several were food related, not sure what the connection is, but I want to wear some dickpanties to a business meeting!

      • Erika Says:

        Listen, I’m a trans banana (or “tranana”) and I take offense to these. You RadFems just don’t understand the oppression of being a food item trapped in a human body. Oh yeah, the term “fruit” that used to be a slur for gay men? Well it’s transfoodphobic!

  3. mbraaheidner Says:

    Re-dick-u-lous!!! Yes, wearing dick panties is the ultimate way to question gender roles. WTF??

  4. lestoille Says:

    DickPanties have sparked some really stimulating conversations about gender roles and societal expectations, as well as enthusiastic musings on the possible outcomes that DickPanties could have: both on the wearer and potential “viewers.”

    Possible outcomes? Please. don’t kid yourself. the best possible outcome you can hope for is that someone else sees them and thinks “there is a dick on those underpants.” and makes a comment like “there is a dick on your underpants”. and maybe, if they are really in a place where they can ENGAGE WITH THE ISHOOS even makes some kind of joke. About dicks. think about it you guys. dick jokes! if that’s not a revolution in the making, i don’t know what is.

    this is activism now? for real? This is a product of the self-esteem generation, who’ve grown up with constant stroking by adults that they really are the best specials who ever graced the earth, and all their ideas and dreams are wonderful and they can change the world just by wanting to because they are just that special. like jesus! only with better outfits. Combine that with the internet which makes it possible for anyone to throw their half-baked ideas out there and swindle other snowflakes out of a few bucks, because hey comrades, if you wear these underpants you are part of the solution.

    We’re sick and tired of cutesy, passive lingerie with little dots and hearts and bows – if underwear is meant to be looked at, then why not use it to say something LOUD?!

    thanks so much for doing the heavy lifting, dickpantiers!


    • “This is a product of the self-esteem generation, who’ve grown up with constant stroking by adults that they really are the best specials who ever graced the earth, and all their ideas and dreams are wonderful and they can change the world just by wanting to because they are just that special.”

      Yep. That sums up the trans narrative as well. If it was only about “live and let live” they wouldn’t feel the need to screech their bullshit all over this blog.

      This whole “I’m the most special” is such utter shit. Hate to be super pessimistic but few of us are special. Most of us are ordinary. Also, I’m fairly sure the actual special people do not need the constant validation from strangers over the internet…nor do they need to wear underwear with tiny dicks on them.

      Speaking of, I have never had anyone (male or female) ever comment on my underwear. Not whilst getting changed, not before sex, not randomly. People converse over underwear?

      The only time I’ve talked about underpants is “You’ve got X colour on, I’ve got Y colour on” or talking about the logos on the waist band. Maybe they should have put the dicks on the waist band?

  5. Areopagus Says:

    So they are underwear versions of cheap printed t-shirts? How revolutionary!

    “Lewd Louise is an alternative-lingerie line that uses UNDERWEAR to express modern feminist sentiments about gender stereotypes and sex politics.”

    Oh, good grief. They are underwear with crap printed on them. They don’t look comfortable, they look like the typical ‘better than nothing’ cheapo underwear you can buy in packs of 3 for $<10 (half that, probably). They are 100% cotton, so if you're active or actually sweat you're in for a torrid experience.

    They are cheap cotton underwear being sold for $32 each. How many suckers are going to buy these? For that price you can get quality underwear made of breathable, soft, comfy synthetics (or at least made of something like Coolmax). Not to mention for that price you can get underwear that won't ride up and would actually flatter those less than callipygian individuals (like their models).

    People have been printing anatomical features on clothing for a very long time; how is this any different? It's not, it's just as basic and juvenile and *bland*, and most of all it's just hucksters hawking a cheap product at an outrageous markup.

    • Morag Says:

      “callipygian”

      I didn’t know this word. Thanks! And, you’re right about that particular cut of underwear riding up.

      Yeah, dick panties are dumb. And useless–or, at least, no more useful than panties without a dick decal on them. The end.

  6. Ashland Avenue Says:

    Interesting. For a company that so vigorously pats itself on the back for its “body acceptance” (“Riots Not Diets”! “No More Fat Talk”!), every model in that video is the standard young, white, and slim sort that we see advertising everything else in the world.

  7. Teal Deer Says:

    Underwear equivalent of the bikini t-shirt or apron… how exciting and thought-provoking. *yaaaaaaawn*

  8. GallusMag Says:

    If this is feminist, what is NOT feminist? That table is feminist. That cloud is feminist. That lamp is feminist. That haircut is feminist. This toilet paper is feminist.

    • Anon Male Says:

      http://www.slate.com/articles/arts/music_box/2014/02/against_me_laura_jane_grace_is_returning_punk_to_its_origins_as_a_refuge.html

      lol, whining about emo being a boy’s club when you’re promoting music made by a male.

      I love the part where the author somehow knows enough to mock males whining about the friendzone but somehow missed the memo on the cotton ceiling debacle; the hazards of being a part time trans cheerleader, I presume.

      • Jane Says:

        I’ve read half a dozen reviews of this rather generic pop-punk album with the same gushy human interest angle.

        But I think it’s more likely time will confirm the specialness of hearing Grace in the very act of finding the courage to convey feelings to the mosh pit that seconds earlier she could barely admit to herself.

        Oh, puh-lease. These lemmings are climbing over each other to see who can bestow the most unctuous, lip-trembling benediction to this record. It’s the same anxious, frozen smile BS with Janet Mock’s book, and the overreaction to the Grantland piece. People are so eager to show everyone what a trans booster they are right now.

        I wonder what they really think, and how long this lasts.

      • anon male Says:

        http://www.slate.com/blogs/outward/2014/01/29/american_horror_story_recap_how_queer_is_ahs_coven_episode_13.html

        Also in pop culture this week, there are some interesting comments there where June and J. Bryan figure out that the culture pushers are weirdly contradicting themselves

        1. “any girl or woman who identifies as a witch is a witch.”

        2. “witches are born that way, with magic powers [people not born that way aren’t witches]”

        Since nobody really gives a fuck about how gay and lesbians identify (outside of the poor souls who have to try to reconcile ‘men who have sex with men’ on the down low in order to try to pretend to educate them about HIV), it’s pretty clear that Ryan Murphy is more attached to the trans analogy than his own life experiences.

        But it’s not like a school for witches with like three bedrooms can take in every goth kid off the street.

        I almost wish the next season of American Horror Story would pick up where this one left off (each season thus far has been a stand-alone story) and depict Camp Muggle across the street where all the rejected applicants sit around calling the witches bigots and threaten lawsuits.

      • Areopagus Says:

        “Grace came out to the public via a Rolling Stone profile in 2012, and soon began living as a woman”

        As a woman? Which woman?

  9. amazondream Says:

    My idea of edgy underwear is having to dig through the laundry for the cleanest pair because I’m out of them or working a pair that should’ve been trashed weeks ago. Not some cheap piece of shit with a flaccid cartoon prick printed on them.

    PATHETIC.

  10. rachelivey Says:

    Please make a post about this? https://www.change.org/petitions/university-of-oregon-support-lierre-keith

    The latest example of bullying and harassing radical feminists in an attempt to silence them.

  11. GallusMag Says:

    Off Topic: I have no control whatsoever over the google/blogger algorithmn r/t radfemcentral and gendercritical. If your blog is delayed in being updated I would suggest improving your search engine standings. But sometimes a glitch happens especially on frequently updated blogs like tumblr. Google stopped updating twitter for this reason. I have no solution for that and its above my pay scale. Accounts do seem to get unstuck and restuck at some point- I have no info on that, if anyone has time to research a solution please drop me the info. But I have no control over that whatsoever and all measures on my end (removing and reposting blogs for example) have no impact. Sorry!

    • GallusMag Says:

      It very rarely happens with wordpress or blogspot blogs. Just sayin’!Google has always had issues with Tumblr because Tumblr posts swamped google searches initially. Then google eliminated tumblr entirely. Now there is some sort of attempt at balance but it screws up blog aggregators. Post on WordPress or Blogspot if you want to be current on blog aggregators.


  12. The trans/jendah queer mob wasn’t pleased.

    quote:
    “It has come to my attention in recent days that my product, DickPanties, has seriously offended some members of the queer community. I have received messages, both privately and publicly, scrutinizing the company’s mission and the imagery surrounding my brand. I want everyone who contacted me about this to know that I have not taken these comments, criticisms, or anger lightly. To find out that this project- which I have put so much of my time, love, and identity into- had seriously offended people whose cause I claim to support was incredibly upsetting.”

    http://weallwearunderwear.tumblr.com/post/75836411240/a-note-from-lewd-louise

    • GallusMag Says:

      Hahahahahahahahahahahahaha!!!

      It has come to my attention in recent days that my product, DickPanties, has seriously offended some members of the queer community. I have received messages, both privately and publicly, scrutinizing the company’s mission and the imagery surrounding my brand. I want everyone who contacted me about this to know that I have not taken these comments, criticisms, or anger lightly. To find out that this project- which I have put so much of my time, love, and identity into- had seriously offended people whose cause I claim to support was incredibly upsetting. I have not issued any formal response to these messages until now, because I wanted to take some time to educate myself on these issues.
      I sincerely apologize to those who feel I have mocked or belittled their identities with this project. I cried as messages poured into my Facebook, Twitter, and email accounts. I cried because I had intended to put something positive, beautiful, and encouraging into the world and it was received with so much anger, hatred, and vehemence. I cried because Lewd Louise was supposed to represent all of my personal thoughts and feelings about positive body image and my idealistic hope that we can all someday live without the oppression of a gender binary.
      As a cis-female, I acknowledge that I have no personal understanding of the struggles of trans women. I may be ignorant of certain triggers, words or imagery, that spark feelings of discomfort in people who identify as trans. I am so sorry if seeing my brand caused you feel hated, mocked, belittled, or worst: ignored. Please try to understand that I am not coming from a place of malice. I have always believed strongly in working towards a brighter future where people of all gender identities and sexual orientations can live peacefully and unquestioned in the world.
      I have done my best in the past few days to seek the opinions, advice, and wisdom of close friends and mentors representing a diverse range of gender identities, including some trans-identifying individuals. I have listened, I have read, and I have tried to see past the hatred and rage thrown at me in many of the messages that I have received. I would like to thank everyone who reached out to me about this and brought this issue to my attention. I would especially like to thank those who did so with kindness, understanding, and grace. To those whose anger could not be held back, I understand. I hope that in the days to come you will be able to tell me what exactly sparked such outrage, so that I can better understand your point of view.
      I feel it is important to note that the majority of the people who were involved in the making of DickPanties and the accompanying images and video are queer-identifying. Whether or not all of the individuals portrayed in our campaign are cis is really only the business of those individuals, and not the brand’s right (or knowledge) to disclose. I consulted with people of many gender identities (including several people who openly identify as trans) before the release of this product, and not one of us foresaw the backlash that it has received.
      I would like to explain the mission and purpose behind the creation of DickPanties. DickPanties stemmed out of an art project that addressed the prompt, “what is wrong with the world?” My intent was to put forth an image that pointed out the absurdity of society’s strict adherence to a gender binary, which I find to be an oppressive force in the world. I think that many in the queer community would agree that if society didn’t force us into letting our biology dictate our identities, the world would be a better place. The project received a lot of positive feedback for being a relatively lighthearted way of pointing out and creating discussions around a pretty big and serious issue. We acquired many fans from the queer community who wanted to purchase and wear DickPanties for various reasons, all of which were personal and highly connected to the gender identities and gender expressions of those individuals. We also received support from many cis-women who found DickPanties were an accessible entry point to questioning their gender roles and identities privately, or bringing up the subject with a partner.
      The best thing about DickPanties, in my opinion, is that it lets someone question gender in a way that is totally private and personal. Art has a completely different connotation when it is being worn on the body than when it is hanging in a gallery. Underwear is not a tee-shirt with a raunchy, controversial slogan, broadcast outward for the world to see. Underwear is for the wearer. Most cis privileged people do not think about gender every day, and to have a way to explore thoughts and feelings about it (like slipping on a pair of underwear that lets them question or imagine what it might feel like to be the opposite sex) can be liberating and empowering. I by no means assert that cis people wearing DickPanties bears any sort of resemblance to the experience, struggles or possible dysmorphia that comes with being trans. DickPanties are in no way intended to belittle or make light of trans women’s experiences, or turn their identities into a costume or fashion statement for cis people. Could some ill-intentioned individual reappropriate DickPanties in that way? Yes. People who are going to be jerks are going to be jerks, and I believe we can’t be afraid to put products into the world for fear of them being misused or misjudged from a place of ignorance. DickPanties spark discourse and considerations surrounding the gender binary in people who might not think about it every day, and I believe that this is valuable to the end cause of equality.
      I want to also address again that DickPanties (and the soon-to-come Squeezeboxers: underwear printed with cartoon vulvas) are not intended to be exclusively for cis people, and that they could possibly be welcomed by those in the queer community who are trans or trans-curious. A trans man pointed out that he would have loved to have a pair of DickPanties when he was first beginning to question his gender identity, because they would have provided him with a way to affirm his gender in a way that was less intimidating and committal than purchasing and wearing a packer.
      We understand that our product scope is limited at the moment, and that is perhaps another cause of discontent with the brand (trust us, we do not hold penises to be paramount), but we have relatively small start-up funds and are working hard to make our other products (like SqueezeBoxers and other underwear styles printed with phallic/yonic symbols) also a reality. We started with DickPanties because they already had a supportive following, and our goal was to use the funds from selling them to put our other styles into production. However, it was perhaps remiss of us to not consider the possible connotations of DickPanties being our only style at the moment. We see Lewd Louise as a project more than a product, which means that the direction the line goes in is a work in progress and we’d love input from as many diverse points of view as possible.
      I do not want to discredit the voices that have been telling me urgently for the past few days that DickPanties are offensive to trans women. However, I don’t believe that my Twitter account, Facebook page, or website is the proper forum for criticism that does not contribute to a greater, more constructive conversation. I have started a blog, weallwearunderwear.tumblr.com, where anyone with thoughts and opinions on our brand can have their voice heard. Whether you love or hate DickPanties, we want to hear from you, and I promise I will read everything that is posted with an open mind and an open heart. We will gladly take suggestions on how to make our brand more trans-friendly and accessible to all of those in the queer community.
      Despite the painfulness that this situation seems to have caused, I want to thank those of you who spoke up and brought this major blind spot to my attention. I am hopeful that we can start a dialogue that is productive and enlightening to all involved.
      In all sincerity,
      Lewd Louise

      • morag99 Says:

        “To those whose anger could not be held back, I understand.”

        I only read half-way through, because there’s only so much empowerment one can take. But I do wonder if the hate-mail for Lewd Louise contained accusations of transphobia, and perhaps, death and rape threats as well. Maybe? If so, is her cis-privileged guilty conscience looking past the violence?

      • GallusMag Says:

        I have NO DOUBT the guys (“transwomen”) vented their violent male spleens on her with complete abandon. They always do. It’s what they live for, honestly: venting their spleens on real women.

        From tumblr (not gonna link):

        Hi. Trans woman here.
        To summarize what the tone of this note felt like to me:
        This starts out as an apology letter to trans women and then almost immediately transforms into a self-aggrandizing sales pitch. You cap it off with, “I know this is offensive to trans women, but I’m just gonna keep on goin’.”
        You say that you discussed this project with, and worked closely with, several queer / trans people. I am going to take a stab in the dark here and assume that none of them are trans women. I’d like to remind you that queer and trans people who aren’t trans women usually have little to no idea of what is or is not good or harmful for trans women. I’m sure there are a few trans women who don’t find this product offensive, but I can safely guess that the vast majority of us would find this product extremely, highly offensive — and, for me (and probably many others), not just offensive, but dysphoria-inducing and day-ruining.
        Reading your Indiegogo made me feel like I was being mocked. Do you know why? It’s not because I am oversensitive; it is because your product is inherently harmful to trans women. It is because you, personally, and I am totally sure that this is unintentional, are mocking trans women.
        You mention several times in this note how good this product could be for cis women and trans men and transmasculine people. I’m sure it is! I don’t care; that was never the source of the outrage. Trans women aren’t saying “this product is offensive to trans people”, we are saying “this product is offensive to trans women”, and you really need to understand how different those are.
        And, again, it is not only offensive, but actively harmful.
        I personally think that the best thing you can do right now, moving forward, would be to immediately stop any production / marketing / sales of DickPanties. Just: drop the project and move on. There are ways that you can make clothing that encourages gender play and defies gender binaries without throwing trans women under the bus, and now that you know how trans women feel about your product, to continue to make this product in any fashion is to actively throw us under the bus after you were informed that this was a bad thing to do.
        Please stop making this product.
        1 day ago 45 notes

      • GallusMag Says:

        She was forced to delete her twitter account.

      • GallusMag Says:

        Incidentally (?) “Patience Newbury” is Justin Travis Goins from the Goins vs. West Group case:
        http://www.leagle.com/decision/20001043619NW2d424_21034

      • morag99 Says:

        Jesus! So, DickPanties are “mocking,” “triggering” and “actively harmful.” DickPanties, I would assume, “literally” kill trans women. Yup, of course she’s in danger. Her product may be silly, but that’s all–just silly, not harmful. Now I’m worried for Louise.

        Louise: they are crazy, tyranical and violent–and you know it. Don’t apologize anymore, but get out of harm’s way.

      • Teal Deer Says:

        Actively harmful, my foot. What, are there razor blades sewn into the crotch lining?

      • kitkat Says:

        I could only skim this nonsense for obvious reasons but I did see something about “squeezeboxers,” boxers with a “cartoon vulva” on them. If she thinks putting vulvas on things is going to make trans women happy, she’s got another think coming! Really, I’m cracking up imagining how that’s going to go down. As we’ve already learned in Transmisogyny 101, simply alluding to the existence of a vagina (much less the vulva, which few of them are interested in acknowledging since it is beyond the male definition of female genitalia as a receptive hole and nothing more) is a grievous offense, cissexism at the least and possibly a hate crime…cis women should in no way mention their biology unless given explicit permission by the nearest trans woman because vulvas are extremely triggering to trans women in a way that penises never seem to be. Yes, these ‘women’ are often perfectly content with their own penises – they post enough ‘sexy’ pictures of them online, not to mention the tendency toward endless flowery prose about how beautiful and feminine their limp snausages are – but a cis-vulva (which they are in absolutely no danger of ever seeing) may actually kill!
        No, mentioning female genitals is not going to endear you to trans women…

      • Ashland Avenue Says:

        So trannies get their nuts in an uproar over this product, and terrorize the woman who makes it. Something tells me that no matter how much she kisses their asses, they’ll still be having tantrums – she shouldn’t bother. The only upside to this drama is that maybe now she sees how fucking crazy they are.

  13. Cybele Says:

    Note to trans WOMEN:

    offense is TAKEN.
    Please do so responsibly or find your trans-privilege permanently revoked.


  14. I wonder…does that mean those underwear with the penis of michelangelos David is twanzphobic too?

    https://davidshorts.com/

    I might be offensive to ftms or so lol.

  15. Cerulean Says:

    Not surprised to see that no female body hair (pubic, leg, or otherwise) is visible anywhere except in the cutesy graphics, while male body hair abounds. Oh, the feminism and body positivity!~


Leave a Reply

