Tom “Laura Jane Grace” Gabel : Drinking With The Jocks

June 19, 2014

24 Responses to “Tom “Laura Jane Grace” Gabel : Drinking With The Jocks”

  1. KittyBarber Says:

    Is this the trans experience? Bitter, violent, filled with rage and jealousy? Hatchet and hot dog, a beheaded corpse, cutting off his right hand–is this because yes, Tom, there always WILL be a ‘difference between me and you?’ Yes, there will be. And vive la difference! Thanks for the subtitles. And the brevity of the ‘song.’

  2. morag99 Says:

    Ugh. That’s not a woman trapped in a man’s body, that’s a 13-year-old emotionally disturbed and violent boy trapped in a man’s body.

    And, you know, it’s true we can’t tell a rapist from a non-rapist just by looking at some guy’s face, but that’s the first thing I think of every time I see or hear this hideous man: rapist.

    One night I turned on the CBC and saw this “Laura Jane Grace” looking like a frightful mess and sitting–demurely–in the red leather chair on the George Snuffleupagus talk show. Oh, I picked up the remote control and pointed at the TV as if it were a pistol! I had just an automatic, visceral reaction. He’s revolting.

  3. SaraClue Says:

    Creepy dude wishes he was Courtney Love.

  4. GallusMag Says:

    I’m drinking with the jocks
    I’m laughing at the faggots
    Just like one of the boys
    Swinging my dick in my hand

    All my life
    All my life
    Just like I was one of them

    Look at all them bitches, yeah
    I’m going to fuck them all
    Look at all that pussy, yeah
    Fill it up with cum

    All my life
    All my life
    Wishing I was one of them

    There will always be a difference between me and you

    • jdmarsh89 Says:

      Yes. Reducing women to disembodied parts… how very progressive.

    • Dathan Says:

      The song’s an indictment of hyper-masculine, patriarchal systems. Just because the lyrics do not specifically state that the violent, homophobic, sexist views of the patriarchy are bad doesn’t act as an endorsement. I prefer not to have political songs spoonfed to me.

      • GallusMag Says:

        “Wishing I was one of them”. Is Tom wishing he was “one of the boys”, or a “cum filled pussy bitch” here? Sounds like an endorsement to me either way.

      • Jane Says:

        Grace is using ironic sexism in the same way Colbert used ironic racism before the #cancelcolbert thing. It’s a very liberal dudely form of satire, not that creative, and way overdone at this point. One senses them getting off on spouting the offense while getting to hide under the cover of irony.

      • kesher Says:

        To my mind, it’s far worse than Colbert. Colbert is portraying a satirical caricature of a conservative. I’m not seeing any caricature here on Grace’s part.

        And Colbert has never been accused (as far as I know) of harming another person in meatspace. Gabel/Grace has.

      • gesegi Says:

        It’s not up to white men to decide unilaterally that their particular use of an offensive term is okay and just give themselves permission to use it. That’s arrogant and presumptuous.


  5. It’s really scary because this middle-aged heterosexual man has a four year old daughter. I feel sorry for his young daughter. This is how her father views women.

    “Look at all them bitches, yeah
    I’m going to fuck them all
    Look at all that pussy, yeah
    Fill it up with cum”

    “Drinking With the Jocks”
    Tom Gabel

    He still looks like a 6′ tall, skinny man.

    @Morag99, “Ugh. That’s not a woman trapped in a man’s body, that’s a 13-year-old emotionally disturbed and violent boy trapped in a man’s body.”

    Well said….

    • Violet Irene Says:

      I want to throw up every time I remember this fucked up dude has a daughter.😦

      What must it be like to have a dad who thinks he can do womanhood better than you? And who thinks…whatever THIS is…is what it’s all about? It’s like the worst of two horrible worlds.

  6. lin Says:

    I like punk but this is just bad. How long will Against Me last now that all the trannies will be going to their concerts, pretending to like this so-called music? The fans who haven’t already abandoned them are gonna stop supporting them. The other band members are gonna see their concerts turn to freak shows and all their songs be about trans. More successful bands have broken up over less. I’m surprised they lasted this long. Maybe the bandmates don’t want to be seen as non-allies.

    • Jane Says:

      I’m not that familiar with this band, but I think Gabel is about the only original one left. I also read somewhere that this record hasn’t done very well, despite the hype. They’re only playing clubs with 500 capacity or so. They’ve been on a downward slope for a while and I don’t think the whole spokestrans thing is gonna change much.

      Even for this sub-genre this is pretty tired stuff. Repeating a phrase doesn’t magically turn it into a hook.

      • GallusMag Says:

        Could be worse:

        HahahahahahahahahaHAHAHAHAHA!

      • GallusMag Says:

        Solidarity with all the #girlslikeus who have suffered because of the actions of Trans Exclusionary Radical Feminists (TERFs).

        Lyrics:
        MY biology, does not have, to be destiny
        My autonomy, is not up for debate
        My Humanity, will not be a discussion point
        You know where you can shove your hate

        You say you know my chromosomes do you know your own?
        I thought not
        Another futile argument as has been shown
        By science
        I am beyond your outmoded theory
        You are obsolete
        And now your failure is complete

        You see you ally with people you should despise, you happily spread obvious lies, but no
        I cannot rape with my eyes.
        You see I looked in the mirror and it made me smile, but you call me an autogynephile
        But only, because I’ve got style.

        MY biology, does not have, to be destiny
        My autonomy, is not up for debate
        My Humanity, will not be a discussion point
        You know where you can shove your hate

        Many of us couldn’t get hep thanks to your influence
        Now its too late
        You are allowed a platform in the name of balance
        despite facts
        We are degraded and dehumanised
        But if we fight back
        It is us that the mainstream will attack.

        You see you ally with people you should despise, you happily spread obvious lies, but no
        I cannot rape with my eyes.
        You see I looked in the mirror and it made me smile, but you call me an autogynephile
        But only, because I’ve got style.

        MY biology, does not have, to be destiny
        My autonomy, is not up for debate
        My Humanity, will not be a discussion point
        You know where you can shove your hate


      • Maybe he can’t rape “with [his] eyes”, but he sure can with his dick, which has about an 80% chance of still being present.

      • Jane Says:

        I am weeping with laughter. Oh my God. That accent is too much. “I’m a laydaaaaaayyy!”

        He can’t rape with his eyes, but our perceptions and Biology 101 are violent. Got it.

        If your heart can stand it, here they are, rockin’ Norwich:

    • kesher Says:

      I got the impression that Gabel/Grace was pretty much a one-person act with varying supporting band members, but I could be wrong. I never heard of Against Me before Grace came out as transgender, and I’m pretty decent at keeping up with music trends.

      The title Transgender Dysphoria Blues makes me wince anytime someone brings it up. It’s so earnest and uncreative.

      • Donkey Skin Says:

        ‘You see I looked in the mirror and it made me smile, but you call me an autogynephile
        But only, because I’ve got style.’

        LMAO!!!

        ‘You call me an autogynophile, but that’s just because I masturbate over an image of myself as a pretty laydee, a totes, totes prettier one than you.’

  7. gtfan Says:

    Look, here’s the thing: even if we give Gabel the benefit of the doubt, even if this is meant as an indictment of “the jocks” and how painful it is to try to fake it and fit in and be one of them, guess what? IT DOESN’T FUCKING MATTER. Know why? Because this song is STILL ALL ABOUT GABEL. Not a mea culpa to the “cum-filled” “bitches” and not a “sorry” or even a shout-out to the targets of homophobia, not a heartfelt sincere apology to the REAL victims in the song. Some of us could never “drink with the jocks,” Tom. Some of us were too busy being scared shitless for our actual lives and couldn’t afford to think “maybe he’s just trying to fit in & doesn’t want to rape and murder me, poor thing!” Even in his song about who he *really is,* he’s still…..a narcissistic self-centered misogynist asshole. Male socialization, much?

    • anon male Says:

      Yeah, this is pretty much the problem with the hegemonic masculinity theory that all the Good Men[tm][inc] are into these days: it’s not what you do in life that matters but who you are when you do it.

      Newsflash: you are what you fucking do.

  8. Jane (the first) Says:

    Flyer for upcoming Against Me show:

    What is it with this guy and the disembodied female body parts?


Leave a Reply

