Cathy Brennan files legal copyright claim over ownership of RadFem Hub

January 29, 2015

GenderTrender received notification yesterday from WordPress.com that Cathy Brennan has filed a legal copyright claim of ownership for the now-archived website RadFem Hub.

Specifically, Ms. Brennan demanded that GenderTrender cease and desist in displaying the above screenshot of the RadFem Hub website header on the grounds that Brennan is the sole and legal owner of said intellectual property.

Cathy Brennan played no part in the creation of the RadFem Hub project, nor participated in the creation of its header or graphics design. She was reportedly brought on board just prior to the demise of the site, under verbal agreement that she would maintain the $50. a year URL costs in perpetuity, an agreement that was apparently reneged on in the space of one year. It is believed that Brennan produced no original content related to the site.

Brennan filed six other simultaneous copyright claims against this website for seemingly random materials published on GenderTrender.

All of her claims have (thankfully) been rejected as without merit by WordPress.com. One might speculate that such claims represent harassment, censorship, and abuse by a wealthy financial services legal partner against a low income working class lesbian feminist blogger, possibly due to ongoing political disagreements.

84 Responses to “Cathy Brennan files legal copyright claim over ownership of RadFem Hub”

  1. Miep Says:

    Well, that’s just silly. Can you add screen shots of the WordPress stuff?

  2. saltnpepa10 Says:

    This it outrages !!


  3. I can see why Elizabeth Hungerford distanced herself from her.

  4. GallusMag Says:

    Cathy likes to harm gender-critical, lesbian, lesbian feminist, and radical feminist women. As much as she can. Destroy them. Since day one. And gender-critical gay men and trans males and trans females too.

  5. Juliana D Says:

    Wtf? I just discovered that site a few months ago, specifically from reading past entries on GenderTrender (including the one on how Brennan reneged on the agreement to maintain the URL), and now it doesn’t seem safe in her hands. And she is serving GT with… Oh forget it. This is such bullshit. As soon as I have money to spare again (in two weeks or so) I am donating to this site.

    Thanks, GM, for all that you do.

    • GallusMag Says:

      Thanks. Pretty hard to run a website when a millionaire sociopath is targeting you with legalese harassment. If WordPress.com legal hadn’t stepped up this time we wouldn’t be having this conversation. Brennan would have had this site shuttered. This isn’t the first time she’s targeted GenderTrender and me personally. And my family.


  6. WTF?
    I hate this. We- as in radfem, lesbian, radlesbians, and anyone gender critical/abolitionist- don’t need more enemies, especially not those that pretend to agree!

    Did she promise to pay for the hub just so she could shut it down? Is she an infiltrator? With so much patriarchal hate and reversal, this wouldn’t shock me, just depress me, to see a women doing this to help men.

    But really- This is what millionaires and billionaires do- they use the laws that favor them to screw everyone else. never trust a really rich person, their hands (or their relatives) are usually bloody.

    I’m sorry you have to deal with this GM. Your site has been so vital, and your work so excellent, of course heaters are gonna hate. it hurts more coming from a sister.

    • GallusMag Says:

      Why? I don’t know. Many of us have been asking that for some time. We have agonized over that question. Because (my opinion only) this person has done such good IMPORTANT work in raising public awareness of these issues, and has paid such a high price for doing so!

      The thing is our desire to support and protect the good work (and the person doing it) is what enables her insane abusive behavior.

      “it hurts more coming from a sister”.

      Yes, yes, and by an unspeakable degree of harm, yes.

    • Juliana D Says:

      Yes, this is why I don’t trust wealthy people.

      “At the base of every great fortune there is a great crime.”

      Gallus, the women here will have your back, I am sure.

  7. Juliana D Says:

    Gallus, I know. It is sickening. No, we shouldn’t trash her. Please, please don’t let it get to you (hard, I know). You have done so much work that you should be immensely proud of. You have awakened so many, including once-clueless het women like me.

    I don’t know the ins and outs of this dispute, admittedly. I just want you to know how much your work counts. I see many other women becoming “radicalized” as the backlash continues, and I think your voice contributed to that, no matter what happens.

    I hope this can be resolved, somehow, some way.

    Peace and love, sister.

    • GallusMag Says:

      Thank you hon. The resolution in this case is ultimately attempting to remove oneself from harm and warning others. Sad. But it is what it is. x

  8. Mary Sunshine Says:

    Millionaire misogynistic sociopath. No feminist of any kind.

  9. Juliana D Says:

    PS by having your back I didn’t mean trashing her. But that we would find a way to make this blog go on, even if she does (big if) try to shut it down. This blog means too much to me to let that happen.

  10. GallusMag Says:

    Fucking Cathy Brennan claiming ownership over RadFem Hub graphics. LOL. IT IS TO LAUGH. What a payday lending fuck.

  11. GallusMag Says:

    If anyone ever needs testimony proving Cathy Brennan falsifies legal claims: drop me a line.

  12. Joe Clark Says:

    Even if copyright attains in a small screenshot (copyright exists only in “significant” portions of a work), its editorial reproduction is protected by fair use under U.S. law.

    Are you trying to say that Brennan filed a DMCA claim? Did you file a counterclaim?

  13. GallusMag Says:

    Un fucking believable. How does such a destructive lying asshole survive in the world? Oh that’s right. Millionaire Payday etc.

  14. hegelsghost Says:

    That’s really weird… I had no idea she was this difficult. I just thought she was another radfem on the internet, which was cool. Shame we can’t all get along.

  15. michelle Says:

    Words escape me…

    At the risk of asking the obvious…has it been confirmed that it really was CB and not one of the trannies noted for claiming to be CB in different places on the web? To an extent, this does sound like something the likes of Wesley or Dennis or Daryl or Dave would try to pull, knowing that it further potentially fractures the feminist base. I put Daryl at the bottom of that list even though he tried to pose as you GM…he is the least computer literate of those four. The other three, however, have bragged about their computer skills when they weren’t committing offenses against others.

    Regarding the copyright claims, if all hosting occurred in the States, then there should be protections under fair use. Copyright law is not the area in which we practice, so admittedly I don’t stay real current on it, but I definitely remember fair use exceptions and carve-outs existing in the various statutes. This becomes even more true when there was attribution given to the original source.

  16. Kitty Barber Says:

    Yeah, she calls everyone else crazy, though. (Including me.) She needs a new bunch of sycophants and every now and then, because she will abuse them all eventually. I don’t know where she finds them, but she does. It’s really a shame, because she does have a good mind in most respects. But once you’ve faced her crazy wrath, it’s all over.
    I guess you’ve been running a very successful and well-read blog, G.M., and that’s enough to make her very angry.
    “Ah owns everything!” Ha ha ha!!
    Remain anonymous. That’s my advice. Thank you for all you do.

  17. Zemskull Says:

    Hello Gallus: If this harassment continues, you may want to look into two pro-bono groups: Electronic Freedom Foundation, and Stanford Center for Internet and Society. The latter is run by the Stanford University College of Law, and has helped persons in your position. Also, chillingeffects.org may have some tips to help you. Good luck.

  18. Jane Says:

    I’m sorry you have to deal with her bullshit, Gallus. This is so bizarre. I still read her Twitter and she’s often very good at taking on the genderists. How can she be so good on nailing trans/pomoqueer/libfem bullshit and act this way? Does she want to be the radfem Queen Ant surrounded by drones?

    I’m not expecting you to answer this, just mystified.

  19. Ladyn45 Says:

    What a weird article..like this website has been hacked by a transactivist..

  20. VC Says:

    Queen Bee Syndrome, very common in corporate settings. Some (most?) high status women can’t tolerate another woman sharing their ‘space’. They’ll tolerate all kinds of BS from a man, but no other woman’s head shall be higher than theirs. It’s indicative of immaturity. This too shall pass. Hang in there, GM. You’re doing God’s work.

  21. GallusMag Says:

    Thank you everyone for the words of support. I can’t tell you how depressing it is to deal with this shit coming from a “sister”.
    Ugh.

  22. GallusMag Says:

    And thank you to those who gave advice publicly and privately.

  23. brackengold Says:

    Hey GallusMag,

    I’m sorry to hear about Cathy’s freakout. I was about to write a thank you, including Cathy as she was part of it, for awakening my long-dormant feminism and showing me some of the truly weird crap going on out there. In any case, I am greatly appreciative of everything you do, all the writings of the radfems you link to, and the thoughtful writing of all the commenters here too.

    I wound up here through a circuitous route starting with the subreddit r/feminism, winding all over the place including Cathy’s blog. A transperson had posted about two subreddits related to gender criticism, about how they read distressing things in those subreddits and wanted some feedback on responses. The very first argument they made was for “brain sex” – an idea I find inherently and deeply, irrevocably misogynistic, as biological essentialism been the basis for keeping women from pursuing their full potential for centuries, if not millennia. Intrigued, I followed the links in the gender criticism subreddits and discovered to my surprise I’m a radical feminist.

    How odd, when I last engaged with any feminist theory in the early nineties, I picked up the idea of “gender as cultural construct for managing reproductive behavior/roles/etc.” – it doesn’t seem all that radical. In fact, it seems quite sensible from an anthropological standpoint, and is generally a pretty robust approach for analysis and comparison between cultures. And I hadn’t kept up with any new writings in feminist theory since – how could I be a radical feminist if I wasn’t keeping up with anything and still thinking what I thought were uncomplicated, uncontroversial views?

    Then I found femonade’s post on the “Cotton Ceiling” and … I was completely dumbstruck and utterly disgusted by the whole concept and all the related transdreck. Oh. My. Goddess. It’s as transparent as the panties they’d like us to be wearing for their perverse gratification.

    And now I’ve spent the last week immersing myself in all this High Trans Weirdness and thinking that I actually need to be responding myself on some of these women-related subreddits, especially to bat down this biological essentialism “brain sex” crap wherever it rears its ugly head (although thanks to you I’ve learned of SOOOOO much more). I used think my voice was redundant on these boards, that everyone’s already said what needed to be said. Now I know I have a role to play, but need to stay connected and grounded. Thanks again.

  24. rainsinger Says:

    I am so sorry to hear about this GM 😵 You really dont deserve this crap. I’ve been off-grid on the web for a couple years..but when I heard this news I had to pop in and give my support
    Take care 💖

  25. Bev Jo Says:

    Thank you so much, Gallus Mag, our champion, for having the courage to post about this. Rich sociopaths like Cathy Brennan use caring Lesbians’ love and politics against us. You were so good to her, protected her when she was harming you. You could try no more.

    I’ve learned that it really helps to think that some are not “sisters.” They made decisions to be the enemies of Lesbians and other women by supporting men against us, including the most dangerous men. Some just do not care and come into our communities hoping for fame and power, and to hurt, simply because they enjoy it, as you said.

    It doesn’t undermine feminism or women to name these enemies, because they thrive when the truth isn’t known. When courageous women speak out about their crimes, it helps all the other women they are harming. Otherwise, someone with that much power can just buy friends and support (as she had done) and lie and project, and too many will believe her. Just knowing she is a millionaire from taking from the poorest, as a lawyer for the evil payday lenders says it all….

    It’s like when I taught self defense to girls and women, and they were reluctant to want to hurt anyone until I reminded them that whoever attacked them has attacked many other females before and will continue, so they fight for more than just themselves.

    Self defense and telling the truth about abusers is never “trashing.” It is sharing the truth to protect others. We can’t “just all get along” when someone is trying to destroy real feminists. Part of Brennan’s lies is to say she’s a “longtime Radical Feminist” and other myths. We saw when she arrived, documented here. We saw the games and manipulations and lying. It’s all been very public. It is self-destructive to keep trying with abusers. I’ve seen you be supportive to her here even after she had continue to target you and endanger you. It only seems to make her more vindictive. If she did appear to have changed, she should never be believed. She has done way too much to too many Radical Feminists.

    If Cathy Brennan seems to do anything good, it’s because she is copying other’s work, like her attempt to get credit by stealing your work. Again, it’s all very public. She even admitted to having her man friend in the Lesbian Caucus where he made fun of Lesbians. Who could trust her after that betrayal, and that was one of many. She pretends to be a Radical Feminist for praise and attention. It is all about her. Otherwise, why try to destroy real Radical Feminists? Why try to destroy this most important site and all else that she’s done.

    It would be a tragedy to lose you and your wonderful work, which is the most important information in defense of all females against the trans cult.

    Again, Cathy Brennan is not and has never been our “sister.” Gallus Mag is and deserves all our support.

  26. neme Says:

    I’m so sorry she is doing this. It’s sickening. It’s sickening that she still has supporters. But if the money dries up, those who rely on her money will drop her. It’s disgusting how these women look the other way as long as she pays their bills.

  27. GallusMag Says:

    Thanks everyone for the support. So upsetting to have a wealthy, powerful, lesbian attorney -who should be one of the biggest supporters of this site- try to destroy it.

  28. ngblog Says:

    • naturalbornwoman Says:

      WOW ! ! ! !

      I tend to be hesitant to vilify other women, but in this case WTF?

      Gallus you’re integrity will never be in question with me. You’re a RFist icon.

    • GallusMag Says:

      Thanks.

      So. Brennan makes fun of the admittedly awkward wording of the title of this post. (Technically she falsely claimed legal copyright over a SCREENCAP -that I took from Google cache personally after the URL went dark- of a website. So she claimed ownership of my screencap, not the website itself. Of course ownership of the intellectual property screen-capped is implied in claimed ownership of said image).

      Then she calls me abusive words repeatedly.

      Then she GASLIGHTS me by calling me “paranoid”.

      While at no point denying that she filed the claims.

      Typical cowardly Brennan legal-weasel.

      https://gendertrender.wordpress.com/2013/06/21/this-is-really-fucking-sad/#comment-22808

      IF Cathy Brennan decides to state “I did not file those DMCA’s” I will immediately update this post, I will personally contact WordPress.com and let them know that Cathy Brennan claims someone is impersonating her, or has hacked her account, and that law enforcement should get involved. I will do a new post highlighting the fact that someone has impersonated Cathy Brennan. I will do all these things, if she simply states “I did not file those DMCA’s, nor were they done at my direction”.
      Actually I would LOVE if Cathy did not do these things. Because it is absolutely disgusting. And very very sad. And upsetting. And worrying. And I would LOVE LOVE LOVE for it not to be true.
      But she won’t make that statement. Because she did in fact file those DMCA’s. All seven of them. Like a sociopathic abusive weasel.

    • Bev Jo Says:

      Projection. She can’t begin to disagee without insults, but the truth is obvious to anyone who cares to look. SHE gets nastier when she can’t control. She wants revenge if you dare to say no to her. She is abusive on so many levels. And she still has no clue what feminism is or she’d know that having a man in a Lesban group where she was trolling for more Lesbian members is extreme betrayal of women for men.

  29. GallusMag Says:

    LET ME REPEAT:

    IF Cathy Brennan decides to state “I did not file those DMCA’s” I will immediately update this post, I will personally contact WordPress.com and let them know that Cathy Brennan claims someone is impersonating her, or has hacked her account, and that law enforcement should get involved. I will do a new post highlighting the fact that someone has impersonated Cathy Brennan.

    I will do all these things, if she simply states “I did not file those DMCA’s, nor were they done at my direction”.

    She did it. She had the opportunity to dispute it, and she weaseled. Like a baby weasel.

  30. GallusMag Says:

    *CRICKETS*
    Disgusting.
    Thank you to that person, btw., for trying to do the right thing.

  31. GallusMag Says:

    *MOAR CRICKETS*
    Thank you also to this person for doing the right thing.

    • Teal Deer Says:

      The crickets are telling. I read her blog briefly, around the time I first found you, but didn’t stick with her for long. I couldn’t pin it down, but there was just something about her that didn’t sit right.

      I’m sorry you’re having to deal with this, Gallus.

      • GallusMag Says:

        Thank you. It is horrible.

      • GallusMag Says:

        The gaslighting is the worst part, and the cowardly evasion of admitting what she did. Disgusting, sick person.

      • GallusMag Says:

        “Did you file the DMCA claims?”

        It’s a very simple question. Not complex at all. But she can’t answer it. She can’t confirm or deny.

        If she confirms, then she is confessing to illegal harassment, which is actionable, and WordPress.com legal is now prosecuting these cases for damages. They sent me links to other cases they have prosecuted. I can also sue for damages.

        If she denies, investigation will prove the complaints issued from her computer, in her home, on her account. Which is also actionable.

        Either way, conviction for such illegal actions could impact her license to practice law.

        If Cathy answers the simple question (which surely anyone being falsely accused would immediately want to do) “Did you file the DMCA claims”- I will eat my hat.

        Disgusting criminal harassment. Disgusting, disturbed human being. Very painful and upsetting to be a target of her abuse.

  32. ChicagoRefugee Says:

    OT, but I wanted to bring this report/essay to Gallus’ attention (on the off chance that you haven’t already seen it.)

    http://www.granta.com/Archive/Granta-129-Fate/Self-Made-Man/1

  33. Bev Jo Says:

    Brennan is used to victimizing women. Being heartless and sociopathic, she enjoys inflicting pain, and so will try to wear down her victims. It’s criminal that she is doing this to you, Gallus Mag, and I wish we could help. The important thing is that she can’t win and she just keeps revealing who and what she is. More and more women are finding out. I shared this post in the Radical Feminist groups I moderate and in the past, women still seemed confused, having read her lie that she had a long feminist history, as opposed to being a male-focused genderqueer until intruding into our community. But now, the women just say they are afraid of her and seem to know exactly what she is.

    The best defense against such abusive, lying sociopaths is the shine the truth on them. They really do not like it.


  34. I’m sorry she is doing this to you. What a horrible person, someone who has the power to be a great supporter of radfems trying to destroy them instead. The only explanation can think of is that Gender Trender is easily the #1 trans-critical feminist site, and she wants that spot at all costs. It is indeed the actions of a sociopath.

    I hope she can be done in for harassment, and I’m glad WordPress is supporting you. I’m donating (it’s not much, but what I can afford right now)

    • GallusMag Says:

      Yes I do hope WordPress.com decides to prosecute her for falsifying ownership of RadFem Hub materials and the other six falsified claims.

  35. GallusMag Says:

    To all the Trans Trolls suddenly popping out of the woodwork to comment for the first time: No thanks, assholes.

    To those who believe I should have kept silent and absorbed this harassment in quiet isolation like a good victim, for the sake of “the movement”: Fuck You. No thanks, assholes.

    To those who sent messages of support publicly or privately (out of fear for their own safety from this psycho): Thank You.

    I have directly forwarded the WordPress.com email to several women in the “RadFem Community”. It contains the legal weasel’s personal data so at this point I won’t publish it. Falsifying such an email from Automattic/Wordpress.com would not only be illegal, but would result in the loss of my blogs and my access to their network, permanently. It would also constitute libel and possibly criminal harassment. The recipients can make up their own minds.

    Brennan won’t answer for her actions because she knows they are illegal. Both a clear confirmation or denial (and subsequent WordPress investigation) would lead to her exposure as an individual who engages is falsified legal claims. Presumably she would also lose access to the WordPress network for life.

    My comment above still stands: If Brennan would care to deny filing the claims I will notify WordPress.com to proceed with an investigation. I will update this post.

    Until that time, there is nothing else to be done, at least here. I will be continuing to consult privately with people who can advise me on how to proceed.

    It’s unfortunate that the legal-weasel payday loan attorney would use her legal skills to attempt to destroy this blog, and eliminate the voices of all the women and men who have contributed here.


Comments are closed.

