MINI USA / Abby Wambach / #DefyLabels

January 30, 2016

47 Responses to “MINI USA / Abby Wambach / #DefyLabels”


  1. After standing on the stage and presenting Jenner with the Espy award that a lot of people said was a fixed deal between Jenner’s PR team and the networks, Wambach has no credibility. Wambach even said that Jenner was “stunning” in his dress. Even some veteran sports writers said it was a joke. A man who has been out of sports for three decades and is worth about $100 million was given the Arthur Ashe courage award.

    I wonder what Wambach thinks of the new Olympic rules that allow males on women’s teams (1.) no sex reassignment surgery – still has his penis and testicles (2.) testosterone less than 10 nmol/L for a year (normal range for a female is .2 to 3 nmol/L). This is three times the normal range for females.

    Abby, what do you think of these new Olympic rules?

    The Iranian women’s soccer team already has eight transwomen on the team. There is nothing to prevent ever single player on a “women’s team” from being male (XY chromosome and intact male genitalia). For every male player, there is one less female player on the “women’s team”.

    I wouldn’t buy anything associated with Wambach. Every time I see one of those silly looking cracker box cars on the road, I will think of all the young women who trained their hearts out, but were told that their spot on the team was taken by a male. I will think of Wambach smiling for the camera, calling Jenner “stunning” in that long white dress, and handing the Espy to a 65 year old rich white man worth $100 million. That is courageous!

    • red Says:

      Yes Slylark. And it sounds like one of the names she’s been called is “female”.

      • red Says:

        I don’t get that she’s proud to be female.

      • red Says:

        She’s working for/with AA. How does this jibe with males being on women’s teams, Doesn’t “woman” and “lesbian” now mean any guy who says he is? Presumably no one held a gun to her head when she presented the award to Jenner? I admire her athletic prowess. I am not sure she’s going to stand for women in sport.

      • GallusMag Says:

        Whether she is “going to stand for women in sport” as one of the top elite women’s athletes in history is a different question than the one you posed, repeatedly: questioning whether she “identified” as male. I’m wondering what makes you question her “gender identity”.

      • red Says:

        All I know about her is what I’ve read here and some link work, but it makes me wonder if she is one of the Lesbians who stands for T rights over women (Female) rights, if she thinks T women are women? How is she proud to be Female?

        Not all Lesbians are feminists. LGBT orgs have shown us that.

      • red Says:

        Huh? I didn’t question whether she identified as Male. Not even once, let alone “repeatedly”.

      • GallusMag Says:

        You: “I admire her, and am happy to see her getting endorsements but I wonder if her “identity” is woman.”

        “And it sounds like one of the names she’s been called is “female”.”

        “I don’t get that she’s proud to be female.”

      • red Says:

        I wonder if, like ALL of us, she has felt ashamed and “wrong” to be female. All of us have, no? . Only radical feminism and lesbian radical feminism pushes pride in female but there are Lesbians (like a chef we recently met here) who are transitioning. Why I can’t even imagine, except they must not be proud to be Female. Or working at being proud to be.

        I agree completely with Skylark’s comment which preceded mine. I’m not as eloquent and much of what I say comes out with difficulty. But trust me, I’m with you.

      • GallusMag Says:

        So you wonder if all women identify as women. Not just the butch lesbian ones…. and you just singled her out randomly?

        Okay- I was just wondering if there was some reason you thought she was dis-identified as woman or if you were targeting her because she is a butch dyke.

      • GallusMag Says:

        When you say “I wonder if her “identity” is woman” it sounds as if you are questioning whether her “identity” is woman. I was wondering why you wonder that. Or do you wonder whether every lesbian member of Athlete Ally has an identity other than woman, or something? I was asking for clarification as to why you questioned her “gender identity”.

      • red Says:

        I’ve explained myself as best I can. Is she one of those women who when she says she backs women in sport, is thinking T are women? I think we here are all proudly distinctly female, no matter our sexuality. I don’t get that she is. NONE of which make me saying she identifies as male?

        I think you’re confusing this mother with another mother. If you dont’ want me here say so.

      • GallusMag Says:

        No I’m not confused. I’ll leave it there. Thanks for your reply.

      • red Says:

        I can take her selling Minis. I cannot take her working for T rights in sport, because from all we’re hearing that’s going to mean their right to play on women’s teams.

        I’ll say goodnight and thank you for your work, again and again and again.

      • Bev Jo Says:

        No, red, not “all of us” have felt ashamed to be female. I’m a Lifelong Lesbian, in love with other girls since my earliest memories, and Butch, since I also refused male rules of “femininity” also from my earliest memories, and I have never felt like I fit in with what girls and women are supposed to be in patriarchy — but I never ever wanted to be male. I was always proud to be a girl and then a Dyke. Don’t erase us. We exist.

      • red Says:

        You see something that is not there. I don’t even know who or what is or is not butch and my comment was class related, female.

      • GallusMag Says:

        So Bev is hallucinating and I’m “confused” then? LOL

    • Bev Jo Says:

      What do you mean, class-related, red? I’m working class by background and have lived poor as an adult. I know countless Lesbians of all classes who never felt ashamed of being girls or women. Oppressed, yes, but never ashamed and never ever wanting to be male.

  2. lovetruthcourage Says:

    dislike this poser

  3. red Says:

    She’s a member of Athlete Ally, founded to work against homophobia and transphobia. Their totally confused mandate is here. I admire her, and am happy to see her getting endorsements but I wonder if her “identity” is woman.

    http://www.athleteally.org/news/abby-wambach-megan-rapinoe-join-athlete-ally-16-fellow-national-womens-soccer-league-players/

    • red Says:

      I think we’re making sandwiches again:

      “Women standing up for women takes the power away from sexism in sport and is an excellent example of how women’s combined efforts are a huge strength needed to halt sexism, homophobia, biphobia and transphobia in sports.”

  4. Old Music Says:

    Off topic, but one of today’s ‘secrets’ on PostSecret says “My wife committed suicide because of my transition it haunts me every day”

    http://postsecret.com/2016/01/30/sunday-secrets-108/11-test/#main


  5. Gallus, thanks for the videos, but I will never watch “women’s sports” again. I have no interest in watching a “women’s team” full of biological males, penis and all, dribbling a soccer ball down the field. I played sports in high school and college, but I’m done with women’s sports. I refuse to watch women’s sports at any level. I will never watch the Olympics again which, by the way, has historically been nothing but a commercialized spectacle and one doping and cheating scandal after another.

    Wambach is a great athlete, and I used to admire and respect her before she disgraced the memory of Arthur Ashe.

    At any rate, these are my questions for Abby Wambach. These are important subjects that directly impact women’s sports. These are critical issues because they can decide who gets to put on the uniform and walk on the field. Every athlete, whether high school or Olympic level, knows that special feeling. These are things that impact the female sex.

    (1.) I want to know if Wambach approves of the new Olympic rules that allow males on women’s teams (1.) no sex reassignment surgery (2.) testosterone less than 10 nmol/L for a year (normal range for a female is .2 to 3 nmol/L). This is three times the normal range for females.

    Sooner or later she is sure to hear about these changes, so what is her opinion?

    (2.) If eight players on the U.S. women’s soccer team were male (XY chromosome and male genitalia) would she be perfectly happy with this arrangement? Eight players on the Iranian “women’s” national team are reported to be male. There are only so many players on a team. There is nothing in the new Olympic rules to prevent ever single player on a “women’s team” from being male.

    (3.) Does she believe that biological males (XY chromosome and male genitalia) should be in women’s locker rooms?

    (4.) Does she really believe that Jenner deserved the Espy award, or was she just being paid to say, “Ladies and gentlemen, the courageous and stunning Caitlyn Jenner”? Being paid to say something is one thing, but if she really believes Jenner deserved the Espy, all the headers must have clouded her judgment.

    “Why some critics don’t think Caitlyn Jenner deserved the Arthur Ashe Courage Award”

    “I wish Caitlyn all the happiness in the world and all the peace of mind in the world,” Costas said last month on “The Dan Patrick Show.” “However, it strikes me that awarding the Arthur Ashe Award to Caitlyn Jenner is just a crass exploitation play — it’s a tabloid play.”

    He wasn’t done.

    “In the broad world of sports, I’m pretty sure they could’ve found someone — and this is not anything against Caitlyn Jenner — who was much closer to actively involved in sports, who would’ve been deserving of what that award represents,” he said.

    Next batter up: NPR saint Frank Deford.

    “I can understand and sympathize with the torment Bruce Jenner has endured all these years, but I don’t think it rises to the level of courage,” Deford told the Los Angeles Times.

    https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/morning-mix/wp/2015/07/16/why-some-critics-dont-think-caitlyn-jenner-deserved-the-arthur-ashe-courage-award/

    (5.) Does she really believe that Caitlyn (Bruce) Jenner is a woman? I mean seriously deep down in her heart, and is not saying it just to be politically correct. I don’t care what Jenner likes to wear, and I don’t care if he identifies as transgender. No one will ever convince me that a 65 year old male, father of 6 children by 3 different wives, who still has his testicles is a woman. In the real world, no one that I know actually believes it.

    If Jenner really were a woman, few people would have heard of him because no female athlete of his generation has ever made as much money from endorsements. Jenner has always been more of a celebrity than athlete, and this is why he is worth about $100 million. Several female athletes have won more gold medals than Jenner.

    This doesn’t involves sports, but it’s worth asking because it relates to the question is Caitlyn Jenner really a woman and how one defines woman.

    Isn’t it possible that Jenner, father of 6 kids, married 3 times, is far more autogynephile than “woman”. If that is what excites him, it’s his business, but it doesn’t make him courageous or a woman. When he was impregnating his 3 ex-wives, he felt “womanly”. Even after spending a boat load of money on plastic surgery, he still keeps his testicles intact because it makes him feel “womanly”. I don’t think he is a woman, and I don’t believe anyone truly believes it either. It’s sad to me that actual women are having this shoved down our throats.

    What does Wambach think of this video in which Jenner jokes about sneaking into his 10 year old daughter’s room to try on her clothes? He snickers and jokes about it in front of a room full of people as if it’s perfectly normal for a grown men to try on their 10 year old daughter’s clothes. Jenner is 6 foot tall, and there is no way a man his size could fit into a 10 year old girl’s clothes. So, what was he doing sneaking into her room and playing with his 10 year old daughter’s clothes? It’s politically incorrect to say the man has fetish which, by the way, doesn’t mean he is a woman.

    http://www.nbcchicago.com/news/local/Caitlyn-Jenner-at-Chicago-House-Event-347217932.html

    http://www.patheos.com/blogs/warrenthrockmorton/2015/06/11/what-kind-of-woman-is-caitlyn-jenner-part-one-of-a-qa-on-autogynephilia-with-michael-bailey/

    Again, I used to respect the hell out of Wambach, but it was her decision to stand before millions of people and give a farce of an Espy to an old rich white man who has been out of sports for over three decades.

  6. shediogenes Says:

    I doubt Wambach knew who the Arthur Ashe award winner was when she accepted the offer to hand off the award. Up until Jenner was awarded, this was a prestigious award and being the athlete to give the award to its winner would have been considered an honor in and of itself. I would be curious when she was told and how long she had to react before she was put on stage to do this. The knee jerky liberal reaction is to “celebrate diversity.” She may not have had much time to think about this. As for her involvement as an ally, there are probably no organizations left to be an ally to lesbians in sports that don’t require being on board with trans agenda bullshit. She’s between a rock and a hard place as a lesbian athlete, and is still out there representing gnc women and out lesbians in sports. I don’t envy her position. I hope this bs with the Olympics will push more women athletes to peak trans.


  7. @Shediogenes,

    I do feel sort of bad for some of the things I’ve said, but I love women’s sports and hate to see them destroyed. I feel so angry, and I know that somewhere a young woman will train her heart out, but be told that her spot on the team has been taken by a male.

    Gallus, I know this doesn’t have anything to do with the subject at hand, but [removed- GM]


  8. @shediogenes

    “I doubt Wambach knew who the Arthur Ashe award winner was when she accepted the offer to hand off the award.”

    She must have known because it was all over the internet. There are also photos of her and Jenner standing side by side posing for the camera that were taken either before the Espy or right after. Google it. So, she either knew about it beforehand, or approved of it later.

    @shediogenes

    “She’s between a rock and a hard place as a lesbian athlete, and is still out there representing gnc women and out lesbians in sports.”

    Does Wambach identify as lesbian? I don’t know how she personally identifies. Wambach is a great athlete, but she doesn’t represent all women or all lesbians.

    @shediogenes

    ” …there are probably no organizations left to be an ally to lesbians in sports that don’t require being on board with trans agenda bullshit”

    True, but it’s time to change. Why would any rational woman continue to support organizations that we know are destroying women’s sports and shredding the privacy rights of women? Why would any woman continue to support organizations that only tolerate women if we keep our mouths shut and do as we are told. Women need to simply walk out, and there is nothing to prevent us from forming our own organizations.

    Is selling the female sex out for some endorsements really worth it? She is only famous because of her Olympic medals. I hope she enjoys the publicity because she could be the last biological female that even makes it to the Olympics.

    If Wambach would publically state that she opposes the new Olympic rules, I would take back everything I’ve said. She could choose to do the right thing for women’s sports. She could show that she is as courageous off the field as she was on the playing field. I don’t doubt her tenacious heart on the field. Wambach has the heart of a warrior. I want to know if she still has that tenacious heart, or she chooses to be just another jaded, phony sell out.

  9. silverside Says:

    She may be a great soccer player, but I think she is naïve when it comes to politics. Saw an article recently where she wants to tackle the issue of “diversity” in corporate America. Just can’t understand why companies wouldn’t choose to be diverse! Must be because they haven’t seen the light yet! In other words, kind of oblivious as to how power functions when you’re not on grass.


  10. @ Gallus,

    ” I’m sure Abby Wambach could care less about some clueless straight woman insulting her on the internet.”

    Was this comment directed at me? Yes, I might be clueless on some things. As to being straight, that is news to me and the women I’ve been with. Who says I’m straight? I’m a lesbian who cares deeply about women’s sports. If you love something, you fight for it. I’m calling Wambach out because she is a female athlete. I want to know if she has the courage to do the right thing for women’s sports.

    As to insulting her, I’m not saying anything that a lot of other people haven’t said, or were afraid to say.

    Eventually she is bound to hear about the new Olympic rules. How can a female Olympic medalist not have an opinion on something that directly impacts women Olympic athletes? Or, does she have a sports agent or PR team that does all her thinking for her?

    I know it might sound corny and old fashioned in this glitzy media saturated, commercialized world, but she is a role model for young girls. Is she going to take the money and endorsements and say to hell with the next generation? I got mine, so who cares about the young women just starting. Someone gave her a chance to play, and now some young women won’t get a spot on the Olympic team because her position has been taken by a male player.

    @Silverside,

    “She may be a great soccer player, but I think she is naïve when it comes to politics”

    People don’t have to have a full understanding of every political issue to see something that is just plain wrong and fundamentally unfair. The new Olympic rules are bullshit. I can’t believe that she is this dense not to see it.

    • GallusMag Says:

      A lesbian that doesn’t know Abby Wambach is gay? There’s something you don’t see every day… For the record Ellen Degeneres is also a lesbian. Thought you’d want to know.

      Being a role model for girls, taking the money and endorsements available to her, helps the next generation of female athletes. It is phenomenal. GO ABBY!

      It seems completely absurd to me for someone to claim she hasn’t done ENOUGH to earn their respect. HAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHA Oh well, that’s the internet for ya I guess.


  11. @ Gallus,

    “Being a role model for girls, taking the money and endorsements available to her, helps the next generation of female athletes”

    I hope there is a next generation of female athletes. By female athletes, I don’t mean “women” with penis and testicles. This is all I’ve been trying to say.

    I apologize for being so passionate about this.

    • GallusMag Says:

      “I apologize for being so passionate about this.”

      You think your “passion” is being critiqued? How disingenuous, manipulative and dishonest. I should just leave it there because I’m really tired of your bullshit but I’ll offer one last clarification because I’m such a sweetheart.

      You are being critiqued for your multiple lengthy absurd testimonials about how you believe Abby Wambach is unworthy of any respect for her accomplishments unless she throws herself on the pyre of a political landmine, sacrificing her income and endorsements over an issue that she quite likely is under-informed about.

      We could have had a discussion about how remarkable it would be for an elite female athlete to do such a thing. We could have had a discussion about how we can create a safer environment for female athletes to speak out about this issue. We could have strategized how to best raise awareness of women in the sporting world about this issue. But that is not the conversation you wanted to have. You wanted to blame, insult, and very clearly disrespect Abby Wambach, personally.

      And that you did. Now, I’m requesting that you stop commenting in this particular thread. I’ve heard quite enough.

  12. radicaljane Says:

    What’s with all the Abby Wambach hate? An out and proud gender nonconforming lesbian who kicks ass isn’t a good enough role model for some of you?

    You all realize that being a popular entertainment figure entails making public appearances and endorsing cars, right? When do you imagine we will see a butch lesbian on tv who doesn’t have to do the thing when her manager tells her to do the thing?

    I was watching the Women’s World Cup when Abby Wambach kissed her fiancee after winning the game and I was so happy I thought I was actually dying. Some of you just wanna stay mad all the time.


Leave a Reply

