Views on Sex and Gender: A Diagram

April 7, 2016

My Only Path to Power

sexandgenderdiagram

Second wave feminists – Accept the reality of physical sex; reject the legitimacy of gender roles

Conservatives/religionists – Accept the reality of physical sex, accept the legitimacy of gender roles

Transgenderists – Reject the reality of physical sex, accept the legitimacy of gender roles

View original post

26 Responses to “Views on Sex and Gender: A Diagram”

  1. Arla Hile Says:

    This seems like a good start to me. I am looking for things to convince my otherwise smart and wonderful women friends to rethink this. Today I got this heartbreaking video (link below) from a longtime friend about a lovely little girl wanting to be a boy and I tried to explain to her that I once felt that way (I didn’t want to be “girlie”) and why it was ok that I felt this way but that didn’t mean I was a boy. OMG how horrible if my parents had let me “become a boy”. No answer yet. I might lose a friend over this but oh well. https://www.facebook.com/Upworthy/videos/1205295746177948/

    • stabuly Says:

      Yeah there’s nothing responsible about giving a child testosterone, which will obviously happen if the mother doesn’t snap out of it.

    • Sketcher Says:

      Hi Arla, here’s a link to a video from another blog ‘transgressionsite’ which shows good evidence for transgenderism being a mental illness. It also cites a paper from the American College of Pediatricians urging educators and legislators NOT to condone a lifetime of surgery and hormones as a ‘normal life’ for children. The video states it’s child abuse.

      https://transgressionsite.wordpress.com/2016/04/06/the-transgender-normalizing-mental-illness/

      Here is a website of concerned youth and mental health professionals who are querying the validity of surgery and chemical intervention as the only intervention for children who present as ‘transgender’.

      http://youthtranscriticalprofessionals.org/

      Good luck with your friend.

      • GallusMag Says:

        “The American College of Pediatricians” is the made-up name of a small, far-right anti-gay conservative Christian group. It is not a real thing. Do not promote them on my site. Thanks.

        The second link, to Youth TransCritical Professionals is on the up and up, and definitely worth a look.

      • Sketcher Says:

        @ Gallus Mag – O Wow, really? Sorry, I didn’t realise that. That makes me feel quite angry. It looked professional with a logo etc. I don’t work in the U.S. @ Arla- don’t look!!πŸ™‚

        So do the real professional body of Paediatricians in America know about it? Right- I’m going to look into what International Paediatric prof. bodies are saying now, it’s got my goat.

        Yes, the other site looks promising.

        Thanks for the nod.

      • GallusMag Says:

        No problem. Yes that group chose that name so they would sound official. It’s just a group of right-wing anti-gay christians.

  2. LC Says:

    I’m trying to think of something that might go in the intersection of all three, and all I have is a little sad: “Men are human beings.” Any suggestions? Great graphic, I may print a few of these off for friends.


  3. Forgive me. I don’t leave posts here, because I know that my conservative religious world view will be unwelcome, but I am compelled to challenge one generalization that you have wrong. Christianity does not have the strict view about gender roles that you have unfairly characterized it with. After all, Jesus, the Christ, who is represented as a fierce knight, charging in and slaying the enemies of His beloved bride, in the book of Revelation, also describes Himself as a mother hen, who longs to gather her chicks under her wings, in Matthew.

    • MaryMacha Says:

      For a second I thought you were going to say, ‘after all, he wore a dress’.

    • Sketcher Says:

      Hello questioningall1 πŸ™‚ Thanks for commenting.

      I used to go out with some wild Irish nuns who would also question patriarchal roles, especially from some of the priests who would come in and tell them what to do.

      On each of the rings on their fingers (wedding them to Christ) on the inside would be inscribed ‘God is Love’, and that’s what they would tell me as we’d knock back another Bacardi and Coke/Stout and get up and have a dance in the lesbian bars (true!) πŸ™‚ They were great fun and I’ve never laughed and learned so much.

      In the morning we’d make some breakfast up for the homeless men coming to the convent doors (we were always a bit half-squiffed). The priests and the mother superior said that as long as you were loyal and true to your partner, they did not give a stuff about homosexuality. It was a brill place.

    • shediogenes Says:

      Have you ever noticed that when men perform a nurturing role, it’s something extra special, almost god-like? When women do it, take care of the whole world, it’s nothing special? It’s not that men and women never cross the gender boundary, it’s that when they do, men are praised for it and women are condemned for it. Your Lord is not the best example to cite. He is extra special, right? The only begotten son of God.

    • Kati Says:

      Not at all the same, though. Described doing as a mother hen does, yes, but not describes “as a mother hen” …in KJB at least. Nevertheless, the graph doesn’t seem to put forth the idea that there’s a strict view of gender roles, anyway, imo. Just that “religionists” accept the legitimacy of gender roles (which, as it does with orientation, Biblical Christianity does do, albeit, with some leniency wrt the traditions for time period written).

  4. WhoWhoWho Says:

    this is a good start, but the dark yellow section that says “gender is edifying, innate” should not overlap with 2nd wave feminism at all. In this diagram it does, thought only a little bit.

    I don’t know of any 2nd wave feminist writings or ‘tendencies’ that would agree with the statemet “gender is edifying, innate.” Maybe I’m wrong, though. Perhaps some of the “goddess” traditions?

  5. hearthrising Says:

    As a Goddess worshiper who looks up to Mary Daly, I would say many of us believe there are innate differences, but I don’t know anyone who is too concerned with teasing out nature versus nurture in the differences between men and women. I haven’t read everything by Daly, but I wonder if she would have called the very concept of such a dichotomy patriarchal. She said many times that she cared little about why men are the way they are. As for the Venn diagram: the link, not the picture above, is correct. As for blaming the Goddess traditions: I’m not going to take the bait.

  6. CKDexterHaven Says:

    I’ve just read about Bruce Springsteen cancelling his gig in North Carolina in protest at ‘anti-trans legislation’. I wonder if he’ll cancel his upcoming gigs in Ireland in protest at that country allowing miscarrying women to die rather than giving them an abortion or for them banning 11 year old victims of incestuous rape from travelling to England in order to procure an abortion? I guess I can chalk him up as another one who only sees shit when it’s happening to men.

  7. IronBatMaiden Says:

    This is a pretty good chart. It’s funny how the modern leftists like to poke fun at Christians for denying science when they themselves have their own science denying issues with trans activism.

    Gender is a social construct and needs to be eradicated. Not have all these stupid ass identities created, only to perpetuate gender and gender roles. Why can’t they see it!?

    • keshmeshi Says:

      They don’t see it because they want to believe it. They want to believe women and men are intrinsically different and that women are naturally inferior. The number of “feminist” women I know who proclaim that their daughters just naturally gravitate toward dolls and dresses is infuriating. These children were never given a choice in the first place. Their toys and clothes, since day one, were 90 percent “gendered”.


Leave a Reply

